Young Blood

We're only young and naive still

Roadtrip Day 4

At Dunedin, we stayed at Larnach Castle.

In the morning, we had a tour of the castle, and then we went to Dunedin Town Centre, to Baldwin Street (the world’s steepest street) and then we went to Sandfly Bay where the sand will actually fly, in your face. We saw a seal rolling in the sand and then we took lots of pictures on the beach.

Then we went drove all the way to Te Anau, at Bob and Maxine’s backpackers hostel. I’m not sure if the owner of the hostel is being funny or just ignorant but he asked whether I was feeling so cold to have my scarf wrapped all around my head.

For a backpacker’s hostel, the place is really clean. Around 8pm we had dinner together and then we chatted with a girl from Germany. She’s only 18 and she’s out here travelling alone for a whole year. While the rest of my friends decided to go to sleep, I stayed up all night talking to her about her travels and I must say I’m really impressed by how she can manage to fund her own travels and to navigate a new country all by herself. I’m not sure how or why but we managed to keep talking on and on until 4am even when we just met.

Roadtrip Day 3

it’s been a while I’m so sorry. :/

For the third day of the roadtrip, we made our way from Taylor-made backpackers hostel to Oamaru. We walked around the town and looked at the old historic buildings. My friends had lunch in one of the nice restaurants there (I had to sit and watch them eat really fancy and good-looking fish and chips) and then we booked tickets to see the blue penguins.

Around 3pm, we went to one of the beaches in Oamaru to see the yellow-eyed penguins. There access to the beach but there were signs discouraging people from going down there so as not to scare the penguins off. We had to wait on top of a cliff and try to keep quiet while looking out for the penguins. After waiting for half an hour we finally sighted the first penguin who and got all excited.

Around 5pm we then went to Oamaru Blue Penguin Colony to see the blue penguins come out of the seawater to nest for the night. Then we drove all the way to Dunedin.