Roadtrip Day 6

by nmj17

We hiked up the Kepler Track. It took probably 3 hours to hike up the track and then 2 hours down. I was kind of annoyed throughout the whole hike because I just want to enjoy the scenery, the whole experience of walking through the forest and I want to be left alone with my thoughts but then I have the other two friends (the other friend chose not to hike and to drive around town instead) talking about trivial stuff and joking incessantly about everything to the point that it’s not that funny anymore.

I’m actually okay with talking but if they expect me to talk for the whole 5 hour trip (I’ll hear someone ask me “Nabilah, why are you so quiet?” every few minutes) while I’m trying hard to hike (while I’m fasting) then you’ll inevitably get on my nerves.

I was tired by the time we finished the hike. Walking towards the car was like approaching the finishing line of a marathon.

Upon entering the car, the other two who hiked with me went to sleep and for a moment I didn’t hear any incessant chatter and finally got some time to be alone with my thoughts.

I don’t know why but I think I’m the sort of person who prefers to have some time to just be quiet. If you try to make me talk all the time I’ll be really tired and uncomfortable. In almost all the conversations I’ve had, I’ll always try to make the other person talk and then let them lead the conversation. I prefer to not talk, because sometimes it tires me too much to express my jumbled thoughts into words.

By the end of the hike, I’m not just physically tired. I’m mentally tired from being constantly asked to participate in conversations.

A few minutes through the car ride, I also went to sleep. And then I woke up to the city-lights in Queenstown.

