Break

by nmj17

I should’ve updated more since I’m on a 2 week mid-semester break, but I’m just busy doing stuff (like lazing in bed all day, doing countless movie marathons and catching up on all the TV shows) and didn’t have the chance to write.

From 2-10 September, I hosted a girl from Germany. Her name’s Johanna. We met in one of the backpacking hostels during my trip to the south island of NZ back in June. She’s almost done with her 7 month long backpacking trip in NZ and she wanted to spend a few weeks in Auckland before flying back to Germany so I just offered her to stay at my place.

On Monday, Johanna and I decided to join Jing for her Mid-Autumn festival celebrations. According to Jing, the Chinese would normally celebrate Mid-Autumn festival by eating mooncakes, writing poetry related to the moon, and telling each other riddles. And we did just that – we went out to sit in front of the War Memorial Museum to eat mooncakes, recite the poems we wrote, and tell each other riddles in the moonlight. And then we talked and stargazed until it was too cold to stay out.

