Te Henga Walkway

by nmj17

On Saturday, a couple of friends and I went hiking. We decided to hike along Te Henga Walkway, which was close to Bethells Beach.

It took us a long time to reach there. Mainly it was because the driver and the person who had to navigate were having troubles… navigating. I don’t like to get in the way and let them sort the problem out, but I had to step in at some point. My navigating skills were sub-par but I think I’ve gotten better over the years :P

So the hike is 8km one way. The hike was rated easy but certain parts of the hike were pretty dangerous. It seemed like the hike went on forever but I don’t really mind since there were so many amazing views to take in; most parts of the track overlook Bethells Beach and the Tasman Sea and it was nice to hike with the sea breeze gently blowing.

Once we reached the end of the track, we took a short break and then hiked back to the starting point. In total, we spent close to 9 hours in there.

My next hike will be the Tongariro Alpine Crossing with Maryam and Mais. It was not reassuring when my friends said that the hike there will be steeper than what we did at Te Henga Walkway.

I’m gonna have to brace myself up for the challenge then.

